Board of Trustees
Dean Yeotis, President
Thomas J. Mitchell, First Vice-President
Louis A. Hawkins, Second Vice-President
Marilyn Kopp, Secretary
Robert S. Piper, Treasurer

Kathryn C. Boles
Eleanor E. Brownell
F. James Cummins
Shannon Easter White
Mona Hardas
Janice T. Harden
Jimmy King
Jamile Lawand
Thomas B. Lillie
Bill Moeller
Elizabeth S. Murphy
Jay Nelson
Ira Rutherford
Michael Rucks
Elisabeth Saab
Patt Spangler
David T. Taylor
D.J. Trela
Jan Werschky

Honorary Trustee
Elizabeth Neithercut

New Members
The FIA welcomes the following members to the
Board of Trustees.

Jamile Trueba Lawand teaches Spanish at the University of Michigan-Flint, where she also chairs the Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures and directs the "Middle Eastern" Studies Program. Born in Brazil, she was raised both in Michigan and Spain, and has travelled to numerous European destinations. A graduate from the University of Seville, she received her PhD in Romance Languages & Literatures from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, and has been a faculty member at the University of Michigan-Flint since 1995. Her publications include a book on the art of letter-writing in Renaissance Spain and scholarly articles in her specialty, Golden Age Spanish literature.

Bill MoellerBill Moeller and his wife Kitty moved from Detroit to Flint in 1958. Flint became a wonderful home for them to raise their three children. They both also became very active in the community. Bill have always enjoyed the FIA and was pleased to be on the board during the last expansion and look forward to his future time back on the board.

Jay Nelson Jay Nelson received his BS Degree in Industrial Engineering from Ohio State University in 1959. Jay was commissioned in the U.S. Navy after completion of his NROTC scholarship. He joined the Trane Company after completion of his tour of duty in San Diego on the Pacific theater. Jay graduated from Trane Company's graduate HVAC engineer program and was assigned field sales positions in Connecticut and Chicago. In January 1997 he purchased the Trane Franchise for Mid-Michigan and incorporated Nelson Trane with his offices in Flint, Saginaw, and Lansing. Jay and his wife of 56 years live in Grand Blanc.

Michael RucksMichael Rucks, EdD, is a retired professor of psychology and sociology. He taught for 20 years at Baker College of Flint. Wife Virginia is a retired counselor and faculty of Mott Community College. Michael has been a trustee several times at the FIA and is very happy to return. He is also a member of Friends of Modern Art where he has been chairman of the Film Series committee for 20 years. He has also served as a chairman of the annual Flint Art Fair.

Michael RucksPatricia Spangler is joining the FIA Board of Trustees in 2015 as a new board member. She is a member of the Rubens Society and has co-chaired the Rubens Holiday Event. Patt received her BA Degree in education and history from Drury University and a Masters Degree in education from Oakland University. Professionally, she was a classroom teacher for 16 years with the Lapeer Community Schools where she received awards for her service. She has been an active volunteer and board member in Flint and Metamora communities. Patt is married to James Spangler and has two married children and three grandchildren.

Michael RucksJanis (Jan) Werschky is returning to the FIA Board of Trustees after serving a previous 6-year term. As a life-long resident of the Flint area, Jan has been involved in many community projects over the years but the one constant has been her service to the Flint Institute of Arts. It is here where she has volunteered in many capacities for over thirty years. Graduating from the University of Michigan-Flint with a degree in biology, Jan has previously worked in the health field. Jan and her husband, Jay (a dentist), have two daughters and four grandchildren.
google maps
Flint Institute of Arts
1120 East Kearsley Street
Flint, Michigan 48503
p  810.234.1695
f   810.234.1692
Monday – Friday
12:00p – 5:00p
10:00a – 5:00p
1:00p – 5:00p
American Alliance of Museums MemberCharles Stewart Mott FoundationMichigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairsnational endowment for the arts